The Efficient Parent Blog

NURTURE. TEACH. PROTECT.

Warning: Don’t Stand on the Side of the Cart March 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — theefficientparent @ 01:07

My son took this picture of me from the bottom of the grocery cart. Apparently he's not the only clumsy one in the family...I knocked these items off the shelf and wouldn't you know that my son had his own little camera handy!!

Did you know that the warnings they put on grocery carts actually serve a purpose?    It turns out you’re REALLY NOT supposed to stand on the side of the cart…or else it will fall over.  We apparently needed to test this concept this past weekend when my son jumped on the side of the cart….and it came crashing down on top of him.  He hit his head on the shelves and cried real tears.  I felt horrible for him, especially since I didn’t stop him from getting on the side of the cart in the first place.  He seemed fine after the incident, but I started getting a little worried about 2.5 hours later, when he went to sleep in the afternoon…and he slept, and slept and slept.  I woke him up several times to check on him and he was fine each time, so I just figured he was really worn out.  But then at 2 a.m. he was done sleeping.  He woke me up and wanted to eat dinner, which I happily made for him because I was just glad he was okay.  I started worrying again though when he began complaining about pain in his “brain”.  He said “my brain needs to go stay the night in the hospital”.  I took him to the doctor the next morning and he got a clean bill of health.  He was fine and the doctor said he could continue swim lessons.  Life has returned to normal and he will never again stand on the side of the cart.

 

Leave a Reply

